Saturday, April 20, 2013

2013 Borgata Spring Poker Open

The Championship Event may have gone to Bobby Oboodi, but he was just one of 23 winners over 18 days to take home a Borgata trophy, cash out and add another notch to a poker resume.

The Borgata Spring Poker Open began April 2 and wrapped up April 19 after the completion of 23 tournaments including the special senior's event and the championship event. Over 11,000 players entered in to tournaments over the two and a half week series and more than $4.46 Million in prize pool payouts.

Steve Saraf was the winner in the series' opening event, which attracted over 1,600 entrants.  Paul Spitzberg bested the second-largest field of the series with 902 players to win Event 8: $350 + $50 Deep Stack No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry) for $40,575. Event 9: $350 + $50 Limit Hold'em saw the smallest field of entrants with just 45 players and it was Eric Van Auken who came out on top for $6,111. James Governa, winner of Event 12: $200 + $30 Big Stack No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry), bested the second largest field of 826 players.

Governa came agonizingly close to winning back-to-back titles but fell just short with a runner-up finish in Event 10: $220 + $30 + $50 Double Green Chip Bounty NLH (Re-Entry). However, a first and second place finish in a single series was enough to rocket Governa to the top of the leaderboard rankings.

Scott Connor bested his fifth place Borgata Poker Open finish in the seniors event this time around. Connor finished runner-up to Arthur Gallinar and now holds two final table finishes in the same event in a single year.

The championship event, $2,500+$200 No Limit Hold'em, was won by former World Poker Tour Borgata Poker Open champion Oboodi who topped a field of 502 players that drew the largest prize pool of the series at $1,255,000. Oboodi picked up just over $300,600 for his first place finish.

Steven Horway had the opportunity to go for the glory in the Championship Event by entering the online promotional contest. Horway's name was chosen from about 4,000 entries and he was awarded entry into the Championship, however he was eliminated on Day 1A.

Will Failla earned his record-breaking fourth Borgata trophy when he took down Event 4: $350 + $50 Deep Stack Semi-Turbo NLH. With four trophies to his name, Failla becomes the only player in the Borgata's history to hold more than three trophies. Ryan Eriquezzo, Xiaofeng Hu and Michcael Cutro each won their second career Borgata trophies over the last 18 days. Jason Rivkin, Jeremy Brown, Ari Engel, Jinglin Chen and Steve Saraf were among the first time Borgata trophy winners to come out of the Spring series.

2013 Borgata Spring Poker Open winners: 

Event 1: Steve Saraf
Event 2: Olivier Correge
Event 3: Jinglen Chen
Event 4: Will Failla
Event 5: Michael Cutro
Event 6: Xiaofeng Ha
Event 7: Adilbek Karaguishiyev
Event 8: Paul Spitzberg
Event 9: Eric Van Auken
Event 10: Yuechang You
Event 11: Jason Rivkin
Event 12: James Governa
Event 13: Ari Engel
Event 14: Arthur Gallinaro
Event 15: David Novak
Event 16: Frank Athey
Event 17: Jeffrey Papola
Event 18: John Almanzar
Event 19: Bobby Oboodi
Event 20: Michcael Comar
Event 21: Ryan Eriquezzo
Event 22: Jeremy Brown
Event 23: Joe Melo

Borgata Leaderboard Rankings (through 4/18 events)
  1. JAMES GOVERNA - 524.525
  2. JEFFREY PAPOLA - 463.875
  3. WAZIR BAKSH - 459.590
  4. EMMANUIL DIGILOV - 459.325
  5. RYAN ERIQUEZZO - 399.788
  7. MICHAEL FORCA - 385.525
  8. STEVE SARAF - 385.000
  9. IBRAIM IBRAIMOVIC - 381.250
  10. DWYTE PILGRIM - 373.438

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.